Synod Structure

The Methodist Church in Kenya is organized into 11 synods covering different regions of the country. A synod covers a geographical area which is composed of the different Methodist Churches in that area and forms what is known as a Circuit. A bishop heads a synod and under him are superintendent Ministers who head the circuits.

The following are the current synods

1. Nairobi Synod

The Nairobi Synod  is under the leadership of Bishop Rev. Paul Matumbi and it has  ten circuits: Charles New, Kariokor, Langata, Komarock, Lavington, Kawangware, Nakuru, Ilimukutani, Isinya, Uganda Mission Area and DR Congo.

2. Mombasa Synod

Mombasa Synod covers three counties under the leadership of Bishop Rev. Michael Simba.

It has 7 circuits and two mission areas; the synod has a population of more than ten thousand members who are served by 12 ministers and 3 evangelists.

3. Nkubu Synod

Nkubu Synod falls within four counties namely Meru, Embu. Tharaka Nithi, and Kirinyaga County which are in Eastern and Southern side of Mount Kenya. It has 18 Circuits with 161 Congregations.The Synod is under the leadership of Bishop Daniel Mutea Inoti/Bishop Elect Justus Bundi.

4. Nyambene Synod

Nyambene synod is in Meru county East of Nyambene Ranges .It covers Igembe South,Central and North  Constituencies. The Synod is in charge of the North Kenya mission which includes Garbatula,Wajir, Kinna and Merit Churches. The Synod has 15 Circuits with 161 congregations. It is also in charge of over 60 sponsored schools. The synod is under the leadership of Bishop Alice Mutuma.

5. Western Kenya Synod

Western Kenya Synod comprises of ten Counties with different communities namely Maasai, Kisii, Luo, Kalenjin and Luhya.The Synod has  eight Circuits, namely: Kisumu, Ugunja, Kericho, North Mogirango, Kkarachuonyo, Migori, Kilgoris and Mogong. It is under the leadership of Bishop John Koskei.

6. Singwaya Synod

Singwaya Synod covers three Counties in the semi-arid areas in Kenya which are; Tana River, Lamu and Garissa.
The Synod faces some challenges in its Ministerial work like insecurity, drought, famine, poor infrastructure, poverty and illiteracy. Singwaya Synod is under the leadership of Bishop Asser Uruji.

7. Tharaka Synod

Tharaka Synod is within the Semi-Arid region of Tharaka County. It has six Circuits which covers; Mwingi North, Chuka, Igembe, Tigania, Nkubu/Imenti, Embu/Mbeere. The Synod is headed by a team of 16 pastoral leaders who includes the Synod Bishop Elect Samuel Njagi, Serving Ministers, VOM Ministers, Supernumerary and Evangelists.

8. Miathene Synod

Miathene Synod is under the leadership of Bishop Samuel Kathawe and it has a total of 152 churches. The Synod it’s under Meru County and it covers Tigania East, Tigania West and Isiolo. It also has a mission in Mwamba. It is under the leadership of Bishop Samuel Kathawe.

9. Kilifi Synod

Methodist Church in Kenya Kilifi Synod is located at Kilifi County under the leadership of Bishop Rev Reuben M. Katana/Bishop Elect Peter Karisa.The Synod has seven circuits namely: Kilifi, Malindi, Mtwapa, Ribe Maandani, Pangani and Chonyi.

10. Kaaga Synod

Kaaga Synod is in Meru County under the leadership of Bishop Rev. Catherine Mutua. The synod has 25 circuits under it. It is under the leadership of Bishop Catherine Mutua.

12.Tanzania Synod

Methodist Church in Tanzania is under the leadership of Bishop Leonard Ndaki. The Synod has the following circuits:

  • Bunda Mission Circuit
  • Magu Mission Circuit
  • Musoma Mission Circuit
  • Tarirme Mission Circuit

11. Uganda Synod

Uganda synod became a fully pledged synod in August 2015. The Uganda synod is under the leadership of Bishop William Muriuki.

The synod has the following circuits:

  • Iganga Circuit
  • Jinja Circuit
  • Kamuli Mission Circuit

The Methodist Church has a strong emphasis on Education and Healing ministry besides the aim of Spiritual nourishment.

Our Location

Our Contacts

The Methodist Ministries Centre
P.O. Box 47633 – 00100 Nairobi, Kenya
Tel: 020-2403437 | Fax: 020-2403438